Recent email conversation between Deb and myself on the topic of marshmallows. What follows is edited and used without permission. Sorry, Deb.
Deb: I found kosher marshmallows at my grocery store, so I’m super excited to have roasted marshmallows for the first time in about 20 years – I’ll probably take a bite and then realize how disgusting they are, but I’m still excited to try it!Ellie: What makes them kosher? I've tried half-heartedly to find vegan marshmallows, but I've been told they're not common out here.Deb: What makes them kosher? That they’re not made with piggy feet. So, yes, they’re vegetarian (or vegan, I guess ).Ellie: I always thought gelatin was made from horse hooves, not pig feet.Deb: Maybe it’s whatever feet they can get their hands on.
Then she looked it up and sent this:according to Wikipedia, it’s actually not feet at all.
Maybe the missing 1% is feet. Enjoy s’mores season, my friends! Try not to think about what you’re eating